Goodreads Wins for 2016

I recall quite clearly how excited I was when I received my first email from Goodreads with the headline “Congrats – You’re a Giveaways Winner!” I had won Nadja Spiegelman’s I’m Supposed to Protect You from All This: A Memoir. Now I’ve won more giveaways than I’d considered possible, due mostly to my incessant boredom at work during lulls leading me to enter into dozens at a time. I certainly can’t say I never win anything anymore!

Here’s a list of the books I’ve won this year, linked to Goodreads:

What a list! I’ve really enjoyed some of the books that I won this year. Regardless of the reviews I’ve left, I am so grateful to have won at all, much less in such a bounty. That’s fourteen books that I may never have had my hands on if it weren’t for these giveaways. I encourage any avid readers, especially those of us who are in school or otherwise struggling financially to look into the Goodreads Giveaways tab, browse the genres, enter and try your luck. It’s beneficial to you and to the writer/publisher whose book(s) you review.

A note on integrity; My reviews were always honest, as the contests requested – the point in giveaways is to receive honest feedback, and in some cases mine was negative. Though I don’t want to seem unappreciative, I have a moral obligation to review these books as I would any other for the sake of book buyers everywhere.

Leave a Reply

