64 Books in 52 Weeks

This year has been a journey, a long and difficult one. As I worked on my goal of fifty-two books, I documented them in hopes to meet and surpass my challenge. My final book count is 64 with a page count of over 12,000 according to Goodreads.

Here is my full list!

1.Cognitive Behavioral Therapy by Tao Lin

  1. Why Men Love Bitches by Sherry Argov
  2. bone by Yrsa Daley Ward
  3. Zimbabwe by Tapiwa Mugabe
  4. Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloe Kardashian
  5. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  6. Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver
  7. All Gone by Alex Witchel
  8. The Art of Sleeping Alone by Sophie Fontanel
  9. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  10. You Don’t Have to Like Me by Alida Nugent
  11. How to be a Bad Bitch by Amber Rose
  12. The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
  13. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
  14. Like the Singing Coming Off the Drums by Sonia Sanchez
  15. All God’s Children Need Traveling Shoes by Maya Angelou
  16. They Can’t Take That Away From Me by Gail Mazur
  17.  Raising Confident Girls by Elizabeth Hartley-Brewer
  18. Slouching Toward Nirvana by Charles Bukowski
  19. The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver
  20. The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller
  21. Poetry With Teeth by Isabella Brooks
  22. Me, My Hair, and I by Elizabeth Benedict
  23. How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel
  24. The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston
  25. Celestial Bodies in Orbit by Eve Littlepage
  26. The Rose that Grew from Concrete by Tupac Shakur
  27. I’m Supposed to Protect You from All This by Nadja Spiegelman
  28. Here be Monsters by Colin Cheney
  29. Ecology of a Cracker Childhood by Janisse Ray
  30. Blackish-Grey by Devyn Springer
  31. Love and the Eye by Laura Newbern
  32. Lunch Poems by Frank O’Hara
  33. The Dogs I Have Kissed by Trista Mateer
  34. The Best American Essays 2015 edited by Ariel Levy
  35. Islam and the Future of Tolerance by Sam Harris and Maajid Nawaz
  36. Earth by Cecilia Woloch
  37. Coming Clean by Kimberly Rae Miller
  38. Native Guard by Natasha Trethewey
  39. Small Ghost by Trista Mateer
  40. All Night it is Morning by Andy Young
  41. The Chaos of Longing by K. Y. Robinson
  42. Emotional Rescue by Ben Greenman
  43. Rhyme and Rebellion by Harry Whitewolf
  44. Blood Don’t Lie by Aaron Levy
  45. Kinky by Denise Duhamel
  46. The All-American Poem by Matthew Dickman
  47. The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace
  48. Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes
  49. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan
  50. Stygian by Sean Michael
  51. The Kiss by Kathryn Harrison
  52. Honeybee by Trista Mateer
  53. Faithful by Alice Hoffman
  54. A Book of Luminous Things: An International Anthology of Poetry edited by Czesław Miłosz
  55. The Power of Meaning: Crafting a LIfe that Matters by Emily Esfahani Smith
  56. Fat Like the Sun by Anna Swir, translated by Grazyna Baran and Margaret Marshment
  57. She’s Not Herself by Linda Appleman Shapiro
  58. In-Between Time by Teva Harrison
  59. Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit
  60. Singin’ and Swingin’ and Gettin’ Merry Like Christmas by Maya Angelou
  61. Wishin’ and Hopin’ by Wally Lamb
  62. Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction (Since 1970)
    64.Collected Poems (1912-1944) by H.D.

That’s a lot of books and in turn a lot of reading, a lot of learning, and luckily some of it was feminist in nature. I needed this reason to learn; starting off this year as a college graduate was difficult, a lot wasn’t going my way for the first few months, and this challenge gave me something to look forward to. This blog became a driving force, something to work on, and in turn became something that I’m extremely proud of.

Aside from building my reading repertoire, I’ve completed my first semester of graduate school! So far I’ve got a 4.0 GPA and I have seven poems being published sometime soon. I had hoped to write a few articles, though I haven’t given it enough conscious effort to be disappointed in myself. Perhaps that’s a goal for next year…

My post count for the year is 99,

My follower count is 29,

My reading goal for next year is 52 books,

and my happiness level is a 10/10.

Leave a Reply

