Self Improvement Roundup 2016

I know it’s a bit early, but I’ve decided to go ahead and dedicate the rest of the year to other genres, I feel content with the amount of Self-Help I’ve read this year. In an effort to avoid posting ten things on NYE, I’m getting this up now.

I wanted to round-up my Self-Help/Personal Growth genre and give a little bit of feedback on what I’ve learned this year. I’ve previously reviewed all of these books, as they were part of my 52 week challenge, so you can look for those in the archives if you’re interested. They’re listed in the order that they appeared on the blog.

  • Why Men Love Bitches by Sherry Argov
    • What I learned: The hope for a book about dating that doesn’t rely on gender stereotypes and weird sexism is not futile, though I am 99% sure that when I do find that book, the word “Bitch” will not be in the title.
  • Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloe Kardashian
    • What I learned: Kris Jenner likes Belvedere vodka. Khloe Kardashian likes to work out.
  • How to be a Bad Bitch by Amber Rose
    • What I learned: Never listen to the people putting you down, especially when they’re slut-shamers and assholes.
  • Raising Confident Girls by Elizabeth Hartley-Brewer
    • What I learned: We, as a society, owe it to girls to instill them with self-worth and self-love from an early age. It is not something that comes naturally for most of us, as a woman and a sister, I need to do my part.
  • Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes
    • What I learned: To say “yes” to the scary stuff, it often benefits us more than we can comprehend.
  • The Power of Meaning: Crafting a Life that Matters by Emily Esfahani Smith
    • What I learned: There’s no use in searching for a blanket of surface-level happiness – meaning will always be worth more in the long-run.

I thoroughly enjoyed trying to improve myself this year, though I can promise you, a few of these books were little help in the venture. I found several, especially Rose, Rhimes, and Smith’s books, to be quite insightful. They’re three that I may revisit in the future. If I had to list my least favorites, Argov and Kardashian are a close tie.

Expect a post on New Year’s Eve encompassing all of my reading for the year! Cheers this holiday season, I hope you’re all finding your own happiness.

Leave a Reply

