Book 53: Honeybee by Trista Mateer

This is the third collection of poetry by Trista Mateer that I’ve read this year, and it was her first. She’s just released a new collection [redacted], and though I don’t have it yet I plan to pick it up sometime soon.

I quite like Mateer’s candor. Her poetry isn’t formulaic or traditional by any means (though that’s not a bad thing), and it reads organic.

This collection is quite a thorough look into the process of letting go – something that was wholly time appropriate after the night I had last night. I identified with a great deal of this work, and I loved that Mateer managed to make those emotions ring true.

Mateer is the only repeat author on my list so far, and I think that’s mainly due to the fact that her poetry pulls me in when I’m having a hard time focusing enough to start a new book – I couldn’t quite handle a modern psychological self help book, or even a novel today, but Honeybee gripped me from the first poem and held me all the way through. Mateer suggests reading this collection all at once and I would undoubtedly agree with her.

Here are the links to my reviews of The Dogs I Have Kissed and Small Ghost, both of which I read this year.

My Goodreads highlights.

I give the collection a 9/10.

Honeybee: a collection of poems about letting go

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

