Book 50: The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

Holy cow; talk about dreams v nightmares – Marina Keegan was an MFA student at Yale who graduated just five days before dying in a car accident. Now she’s got a well known collection of works after her essay “The Opposite of Loneliness” went viral just following her death and/or its publication with the New Yorker.

Her personality is well documented in her nonfiction pieces; she has a strong voice that jumps off of the page, and she makes her interests known. Much of her fiction was very original, using concepts I’d never have thought up on my own (the main reason that I can’t seem to find any confidence in the genre). Her nonfiction was just as varied; she wrote essays like “The Opposite of Loneliness,” and interesting pieces about small chunks of the world, like a 63 year old exterminator named Tommy. I thoroughly enjoyed her works from cover to cover, and I wish I could look forward to more from her.

Her writing was lovely, though I have to admit that it felt almost like reading for workshop; her pieces could have just as easily been written by my peers, an odd thing to consider. Marina was my age when she died.

My Goodreads highlights and notes.

I give the book an  8/10.

The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories

Happy reading friends!

ps. I’m just two books away from meeting my New Year’s resolution for 2016, which I plan to exceed. I’m so pleased with myself, and I’m so happy to have you with me.

Leave a Reply

