Book 44: Rhyme and Rebellion  by Harry Whitewolf 

Harry Whitewolf recently reached out to me on Goodreads (just a howdy-do sort of deal) before inviting me to the online event he created for a five day window in which this collection of his poetry would be free through Kindle. As someone who is a fan of poetry, eBooks, and free things, I was quick to download it. 
I’ll begin by saying that the description turned me off – “P.C. Pussies,” the title of one of Whitewolf’s poems, was enough to make me cringe. I hoped for satire and was in turn highly disappointed. 

The first poem in the collection, “Equality for the Poor,” has a very strict rhyme scheme (aabbccdd), so I wasn’t sure what to expect; I soon understood that rhyme is not only central to the collection through the title, but through each poem as well. I’ve mentioned before that I’m not huge on constant rhyme; if you’re with me on that this collection is NOT for you. Whitewolf relies very heavily on rhyme, something that seems to have limited nearly every poem in this collection. 

In “Ads, Abs and Apps,” Whitewolf references “White boy rappers,” a stunning chunk of irony for the simple fact that the majority of this collection read like it could have come straight from the mouth of one. 

My favorite poem in the collection is definitely “Skint,” a prose poem that doesn’t try so hard as the rest – the lack of odd line breaks and forced rhymes is so much better. 

In a lot of cases Whitewolf has excellent sentiments, but I can’t enjoy the poems for the rhyming. I would love to read more work from him that feels as organic as “Skint,” and perhaps that’s what his other collections are like. 

I give the collection a 4/10. 

My previous post contains the amazon link – if you act fast the free kindle edition window should still be open. 
Happy reading,

Scarlett 

Leave a Reply

