Book 29: Here Be Monsters by Colin Cheney

Poetry! Sweet poetry. Modern poetry. My last read was long and heavy, so poetry is a sweet breeze in comparison.

Cheney is very obviously creative. I’ve never read works quite like his; the intricate threading together of complex vocabulary and the dozens of unique concepts made for truly different poems than anything I’ve ever seen. I fell in love with his work when I got to “Landfill Orchids,” and loved “Dress Rehearsal for Bestiary” for its first stanza. “Half Ourselves & Half Not” was just as stunning. “Phaethon’s” opening lines were enough to hold me captivated. “Hanging Garden,” “Film & Ghost Film,” and “See It Feelingly” were also intensely beautiful works.

Though I didn’t necessarily love every poem in the book, and at times found them far too coded for my taste, there are definitely some gems here.

I give the book a 6/10.

Happy reading,
Scarlett

Here Be Monsters: Poems (The National Poetry Ser.)

Leave a Reply

